Wardriving (Bus Version)

A while ago I was coming to our capital city from my home home town 83km  away, on that way I thought why not monitor all wireless devices, because I’d always wanted to know how (in)secure the wireless devices over here were, and as I watched the AP number increasing while drinking a half warm coke.

I saw that in general people thought that an simple WEP protection is enough for them to feel secure xD, even thought WEP is known to be a buggy and weak security algorithm, people use it a lot here and everywhere else.

From 805 wireless devices I’ve been able to capture during the drive, were 363 with no security at all! from the remaining 442 where only 37% with an WPA/WPA2 protection, all the rest relied on an easy to break WEP protection.

Here bellow you’ll see a thew screens I made in the middle of the road while monitoring.

 

 

If someone has done any similar scans in his city, I’d love to know the number of (in)secure wireless connections :).

Leave a Reply

